There’s a dress hiding under my bed!

9 Aug

Quite a few months ago I started a dress that was inspired by the late Victorian era. The idea was good, but I had no pattern. Also, I didn’t by enough fabric. Then I had the idea that the skirt should have layers of black lace. Sadly, I got about half way down the skirt and realised that I needed about ten more yards of lace if that was going to work, or I would end up with an awfully short skirt. Of course, there was no more of that type of lace left at the store, so I had to start over again with a new lace that I didn’t like as much. Well, after ripping it apart about five times and changing it in every way possible, I got frustrated, stuffed it in a bag, then shoved it under my bed. 

I got back from vacation last week, and guess what I found hiding under my bed? I decided to give it one more try to see what I can do. I don’t have enough of the purple fabric that I had originally, so I’m digging through my boxes of fabric for some black material to use…

4 Responses to “There’s a dress hiding under my bed!”

  1. grinsi August 9, 2011 at 5:43 pm #

    that so much sounds like me 2 or 3 years ago.. 😉 did you do a sketch of what you wanted to do? i’d like to see it come to life. do you wear all these dresses yourself or do you make them for shootings too?

  2. xiaolindesign August 10, 2011 at 3:03 pm #

    Yes, I have it sketched out now! It is a full length skirt with a small train. It has petals of ruffles trimmed with black lace that wrap around the front, and a large folded bow in the back, with the ties trailing down to the floor… I’ll be posting more photos as it progresses.

    I wear all my dresses (except the ones I make for customers). I’m a little funny, when I don’t have to go anywhere, I’ll just wear one of my dresses around the house, just because its fun to wear. Yes, I also make dresses for photoshoots, I made some of the costumes in the Harry Potter Shoot 🙂

    • grinsi August 13, 2011 at 8:21 am #

      show it! sounds beautiful and pretty hard to sew ^^
      i saw your waistcoat in the shoot.. did you make the long black dress too? and if so, do you wear it in your free time? i think that’s not strange or anything else at all but very cool 😉 i don’t have that many selfmade dresses, but if i had, i’d dress up all the time too 😉

      • xiaolindesign August 15, 2011 at 5:07 pm #

        I was going to post a photo of my drawing, but then I decided to keep it a secret. Yes, I made both dresses! I can’t wear the long black one though because it is way too big for me. I really enjoy dressing up, I have a lot of clothes that I’ve made and its a lot less expensive to make unique clothes, than to buy them

Leave a Reply

